The Chateau

Pohled z průjezdu na nádvoří

Pohled z průjezdu na nádvoří

GPS: 49°40’2.543″N, 15°24’27.110″E

In 2013, the chateau changed owners and the main task was to save the monuments in order to open the chateau to public in the shortest time as possible. The aim was achieved in June 2014 when the chateau was opened Exhibition of historical European glass, which is located in the newly renovated rooms of the Baroque wing of the chateau. At the same time at the chateau were opened two children’s exposure: The Kingdom of dolls and Fairy circle On Sázava river.

Since June 2015, visitors have to opportunity to visit several exposures of the chateau stands:

First circuit is dedicated Exhibition of historical European glass where visitors can admire for the 1,100 objects created from the Baroque period to the early 20th century. File comes from a unique collection of Decorative Arts in Prague and the extent and quality yet was never issued. Due to general reconstruction of the museum building in Prague will not in the coming years its collections accessible in Prague. Part of the Museum Světlá is an exhibition about the history of the city and its owners.

Second circuit consists of four exposures. The Exposition of historical clocks, visitors can admire the precious hours created from Baroque period to the 19th century. File comes from the Museum of Decorative Arts in Prague (UPM). The second part is Exposition of historical paintings and the last part is Exposition of historical sculptures, both rented from the Museum of Vysočina Třebíč.

Exposition Children’s Kingdom – Annually restored exposition for children with dioramas, castles models, dolls and other toys. In the children’s fairy circle On Sázava river visitors can acquaint with the active form of legends of Sázava region that are inspired by the book by Eduard Doubek.

Since 2017 season you can try our Exit Games with Ancient Greece theme. Escape rooms are ideal for families with children or groups of children aged 10-18 years. Exit Games are available only in Czech language.

During whole season are there action primarily for children (Day of children, World of toys) or for the whole family (Trčka´s celebration, SázavaFest, concerts, exhibitions, and other action).

Visitors can also relax and refresh yourself in our coffee house Ladurée. You can use indoor of coffee house or outdoor seating in the courtyard or near the chateau park. Drink menu consists of a big offer of coffee, tea, juice, hot chocolate or punch in winter season. Visitors can enjoy desserts, cakes or ice – cream. Children´s corner is available for children.

In the northern part of castle visitors can see winter garden with waterfall and small lagoon with turtles, entrance to the winter garden is from castle courtyard. Around castle there is a big English castle park (18ha) with ponds.

It still in progress reconstruction of the castle grounds and arise four tours.

It is an effort that the castle became a cultural center not only of the Highlands, but the entire Czech.

Entry fee:

Exhibition of historical European glass / Exposition of historical clocks, paintings and sculptures
Adults 120 Kč
Children to 15 years old  60 Kč
Students, seniors  70 Kč
Family ticket (2 adults + 2 children) 320 Kč
Children to 3 years old   free

The exhibition tours are guided tours and begin every hour (the first begins at 10 am and the last at 16 hours). The whole tour takes about 60 minutes.

Exhibition of historical European glass + Exposition of historical clocks, paintings and sculptures
Adults 200 Kč
Children to 15 years old  100 Kč
Students, seniors 115 Kč
Family ticket (2 adults, 2 children) 535 Kč
Children to 3 years old free
Children’s fairytale circuit On Sázava/Exposition Children’s Kingdom
Adults 65 Kč
Children to 15 years old 40 Kč
Family ticket (2 adults, 2 children) 170 Kč
Children to 3 years old free
Children’s fairytale circuit On Sázava + Exposition Children’s Kingdom
Adults 110 Kč
Children to 15 years old 65 Kč
Family ticket (2 adults, 2 children) 300 Kč
Children to 3 years old free

Opening hours:

June and September 10 – 17 hour

on order

Saturday and Sunday

Monday – Friday

July and August 10 – 17 hour Tuesday – Sunday
October – May on order Monday – Sunday

Contact:

Tel. 778 075 588 nebo 569 333 558

info@zameksvetla.cz

www.zameksvetla.cz


From the history of castle

The history of Světlá castle dates back to the Middle Ages when Štěpán from Šternberk had in 1393 built on the left side of the river Sázava Gothic fortress protected by moats.

In 1429 accounted manor to gender of Trčka from Lípa and in yaer 1567 had Burian III.

Trčka from Lípa rebuilt existing fortress at hunting castle already in the Renaissance style. Trčka from Lípa lived here to 1636.

In 1722 the castle was property of Czernin. They continued in next rebuilt of the castle in Baroque style. Complete east part of the castle they decorated by stucco, arcades in the first floor and ancestral coat of arms.

Another rebuilt was realized in 1774-1775 by Kolowrat-Krakowský who restored the estate and founded many glass-cutting and garnet-grindings workshops.

In 1809 the castle ceased to serve its original purpose and become army hospital.

The new owner of the castle became in 1817 earl Franz Joseph Zichy, who rebuilt the west wing of the castle in the Empire style. Knight’s hall and other rooms on the first floor decorated by stucco.

In 1821 the castle was owned by the Salm-Reifferscheidt. They have invited in 1869 to remodel their headquarters Viennese architect Svatoš, he had to adjust the castle with respect to the original architectural styles. Only the west wing added the neo-renaissance tower and a balcony above the main entrance. In the courtyard arcades concluded a series of windows and built an orangery, which has been preserved in its original form today.

Svatoš gave the castle its present form. Created storey and part two-storey building with four wings that enclose a courtyard with a fountain. On the site are clear Renaissance, Baroque, Empireand Neo-Renaissance elements.

In the early 20th century, Land Bank has setted in the castle. Soon after that, the castle became the property of industrialist Richard Morawetz. But he had to leave before the war Czechs and the lock used for their purposes Germany (1939-1945) and later Czechoslovak crew (1945-1948).

Since 1949 the chateau was the seat of Central School of Agriculture, which remained there until 2011.

Now the castle is owned by the Castle of Light Ltd., which bought the monument from the town in 2013 and is accessible to the general public.